Communion Meditation — I John 1:8-9: Freshness Renewed

Jesus from the Deesis Mosaic

Jesus from the Deesis Mosaic (Photo credit: jakebouma)

Communion Meditation – I John 1:8-9 – Freshness Renewed

 

Fresh.

 

Fresh is a good thing.  Degree deodorant promises men that if they use it, they will be fresh for the entire day.

 

I must confess.  There are days when I do not feel fresh, even though I have used my Degree deodorant.

 

I believe Elijah A. Hoffman knew what I mean.  He wrote the words to a chorus you may have heard.  It says, “I must tell Jesus all of my trials.  I cannot bear these burdens alone. . . . I must tell Jesus.  He ever loves and cares for his own.”

 

In his letter John urged us to make our confessions to Jesus.  In I John 1:8-9 we read: “If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

 

Early Sunday morning before dawn I was checking my messages.  A friend sent a Facebook post I want to share with you.  It said, “Nothing you confess could make me love you less.”  It was signed, “Jesus.”

 

As we come to the Lord’s Table I hope you find the renewal that is promised to us.

Leave a Reply

