Celebrating with a 7/16 Driver

English: A T-handle hex socket wrench.

English: A T-handle hex socket wrench. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Celebrating with a 7/16 Driver

Imagine, or better yet don’t imagine not having your plumbing working for four days.

It wasn’t my entire plumbing that was out. It just seemed like the essential components were out of operation. One of the toilets backed up. Attempts to fix it only made matters worse. On the first of the four days the bath tub was also stopped.

I was determined not to let this stop me from celebrating the passing of another year. To do so I determined to tackle the work after my “big day.”

The work day arrived. I would have to remove a toilet, put down a new wax seal, and open a drain. I had to solve the problem, but first I had to assemble my tools. Hammer and putty knife? Yes. Wrench? Yes. Tarpaulin? Yes. Drain auger, aka snake? Yes.

What about the bolts holding the toilet? I needed a small wrench or socket. So, I turned to an old tool box.

In the top drawer of the tool box laid a driver for nuts. It was a 7/16 driver. It was one of the remaining tools that I had received from the garage on the farm. It was my Dad’s tool.

I had no idea whether this was the right tool or if I would have to go in search of one of my box wrenches. Once I began I discovered it was just right. The nuts on the restraining bolts came off to free the toilet for the operation. After about an hour the work was done. The drain was unstopped, and the wax seal was secured. The same 7/16 driver secured the nuts to bolt down the toilet.

Learning. I was learning one more lesson. You would thing that by this time I would know how to remove a toilet and install a wax seal, but it was my first time. I could not have succeeded if I did not have my Dad’s driver. That was certainly a lesson.

I recalled my Dad. He was born in 1907, lived his life as a farmer, and died in 1982. Late in his life he had a son, me. We had our differences, but I believe that as a young man I had arrived at the point where he and I knew we loved and respected each other.

I celebrated success. I celebrated a toilet that flushed and a bath tub that drained. I celebrated a tool that was just right for the job. Most of all I celebrated the fact that I had a Dad who had given me a tool and a life.

The Dad, the tool, the year of life – they are all gifts of a Heavenly Father.

Leave a Reply

