Studies in Ephesians — Ephesians 4: 25-32

Dove of the Holy Spirit (ca. 1660, alabaster, ...

Dove of the Holy Spirit (ca. 1660, alabaster, Throne of St. Peter, St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Studies in Ephesians – Ephesians 4:25-32

 

G – R- I – E – F

 

See also: James 4:7; Matt. 5:37, 6:12; Eph. 1:13; Prov. 25:11; 1 John 5:16: Gal 3:27; I Peter 5:8

 

Give no opportunity – v. 27 – Don’t open the door to devilish influences.  Here I am reminded of the time I almost placed a ladder in a bush that contained a hornet’s nest.  If we give opportunity to evil, it may soon become overwhelming.

 

Resolve – vs. 24, 25 – A chorus we sang in college contained the words, “I will go and make it right so I can testify tonight, I’ve been with Jesus all day long.”   End your day well.  Some couples find that the pledge to end the day at peace helps to keep their marriage intact.  Be at peace with God and one another.

 

Investiture – v. 30 – We learn that Jesus ascended on high.  He promised to send in his place the Holy Spirit.  God has an investment in us.

 

Elimination – v. 29,31 – There is so much we can live without.  Eliminate the unwholesome from your life.

 

Forgiveness – v. 32 – Your forgiveness of others is important for your spiritual welfare.  One author, Wayne Dyer, told how he stood at the grave of his father and offered to forgive the man.  For him this brought a sense of relief.  Try forgiving others their wrongs.  After all, God forgives us.

 

Exemplary story – Late one Saturday I was called into a classroom where students were taking an exam.  I was informed that one of the students had received a heart wrenching call.  Her son had called to say he was planning to take his life.  When I reached the room, the mother was in tears. Then I was reminded of childhood.  Something I never wanted to do was to give my mother a reason to cry.  Believers should not bring grief to the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

