Communion Meditation – John 10:17-18 – The Rarity of a Sacrifice

It is unlikely that you will find a sacrifice bunt, if you check the baseball statistics for the 2015 World Series when the Kansas City Royals play the New York Mets. A sacrifice advances a runner from third base to home, but it sacrifices the batter. The last time the play was used in the World Series was in 1912.

A sacrifice works, and the player must think of the welfare of the team before his own. How many players will do that?

When Jesus was preparing to go to the cross, he as prepared to make a sacrifice. He trusted the Father absolutely, and e sought the welfare of the lost above his own welfare

Listen to John 10:17-18: The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life – only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.

As we approach the communion table let us remember the sacrifice Jesus willingly made for us.

Communion of the Apostles (detail)

Leave a Reply

