Week Twenty-two — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — Visions of Jesus after Easter — Acts 18: 9, 10

Sunday, May 29

Acts 18: 9, 10 One night the Lord spoke to Paul in a vision; “Do not be afraid; keep on speaking, do not be silent.  For I am with you, and no one is going to attack and harm you, because I have many people in the city.”

Prayer:   Lord, we thank you for your abiding presence.

Thought for the day:  The most dedicated coaches are never far from their star athletes.

Monday, May 30

Matthew 28:19, 20 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.  And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, how grateful we are that you would accompany us in your work.

Thought for the day: The greatest generals are not armchair generals.

Tuesday, May 31

Psalm 139: 7, 8 Where can I go from your Spirit?  Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

Prayer:  Lord God, may we abide in your eternal presence. 

Thought for the day:  No replacement batteries were required for the light of the stars to reach us.

Wednesday, June 1

John 14:18, 19 I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.  Before long, the world will not see me anymore but you will see me.   Because I live you also will live.

Prayer:  Jesus, we give thanks that we need only whisper a simple prayer to come into your presence.

Thought for the day:  If the parent must install a nanny-cam video, how reliable is the nanny?

Thursday, June 2

Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

Prayer:  Lord, when we are weak and faltering bring to our remembrance the promise of you presence.

Thought for the day:  How do you suppose the day would go if you said, “Lord, I’ll go, if You will go.”

Friday, June 3

I Kings 8: 57, 58 May the Lord our God be with us as he was with our fathers; may he never leave us nor forsake us.  May he turn our hearts to him, to walk in all his ways and to keep the commands, decrees and regulations he gave our fathers.

Prayer:  Lord God, your faithfulness to your children through the ages gives us hope.

Thought for the day: If we were to look more often in the rearview mirror, perhaps we could better see God picking up the bridgework he had laid on the path we traveled.

Saturday, June 4

Hebrews 13: 5,6 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you never will I forsake you.”  So we say with confidence, “the Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, we give thanks for the apostles and saints who showed us that their treasure was in heaven.

Thought for the day: The world cannot manipulate contentment the way that it manipulates want. 

 

The Mission of the Holy Spirit//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
Photo: “Mission of the Holy Spirit” by Fr Lawrence Lew, OP on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

