Week Twenty-eight — The Works of Elijah — I Kings 18:36, 37

Sunday, July 10

I Kings 18:36,37 At the time of sacrifice, the prophet Elijah stepped forward and prayed: “O Lord, God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel, let it be known today that you are God in Israel and that I am our servant and have done all these things at your command.  Answer me, O Lord, answer me, so these people will know that you, O Lord, are God, and that you are turning their hearts back again.”

Prayer:  O God, in this age we worship you as the supreme Lord, the Creator, and our Deliverer.

Thought for the day:  Letting God be God can make life simpler.

Monday, July 11

Deuteronomy 6: 4, 5 Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one.  Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.

Prayer:   Lord, may you forgive us for the half-hearted love we offer to you too often.

Thought for the day:  Many are willing to love God with all their soul, fewer love God with all their strength, and even less love God with all their heart, that is, their mind.

Tuesday, July 12

Joshua 24:14, 15 Now fear the Lord and serve him with all faithfulness.  Throw away the gods your forefathers worshiped beyond the River I Egypt, and serve the Lord.  But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

Prayer: O God, we choose this day to serve you alone.

Thought for the day: Idols cannot talk back.

Wednesday, July 13

Ezekiel 14: 7,8 When any Israelite or any alien living in Israel separates himself from me and sets up idols in his heart and puts a wicked stumbling block before his face and then goes to a prophet to inquire of me, I the Lord will answer him myself.  I will set myself against that man and make him and example and a byword.  I will cut him off from my people. The you will know that I am the Lord.

Prayer: O Lord, may our worship of you be pleasing In your sight.

Thought for the day: We must be spiritually ready to hear a prophet speak.  

Thursday, July 14

Psalm 34:17 The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.

Prayer: Almighty God, you are a God who hears our prayers.

Thought for the day:  Idols do not respond better to shouts.

Friday, July 15

Matthew 12:39 He answered, “a wicked and adulterous generation asks for a miraculous sign?  But none will be given it except the sign of the prophet Jonah.  

Prayer:  Lord, may you forgive us for seeking after signs.

Thought for the day: Sometimes a well-shaped cloud is just a well-shaped cloud.

Saturday, July 16

I John 5:21 Dear children, keep yourselves from idols.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, may our devotion to you be faultless.

Thought for the day:  When the catcher holds the ball, the runner cannot steal home.
Elijah the Prophet//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
Photo: “Elijah the Prophet” by Lawrence Lew OP on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

