Week Twenty-nine — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — The Works of Elijah — I Kings 19: 11,12

Sunday, July 17

I Kings 19:11,12 The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.” Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake.  After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire.  And after the fire came a gentle whisper.

Prayer: O God, may we hear your voice in all places where you would speak to us.

Thought for the day: Not all noise is “white noise.”

Monday, July 18

Mark 10:29, 30 “I tell you truth,” Jesus replied, “no one who has left home or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or field for me and the gospel will fail to receive a hundred times as much in this present age (homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children, and fields – and with them, persecutions) an in the age to come, eternal life.”

Prayer: Jesus, you do know every sacrifice we have and have not made for you.

Thought for the day: Making sacrifices for God is just deferring our rewards.

Tuesday, July 19

Psalm 29: 4, 5 The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is majestic. The voice of the Lord breaks the cedars; the Lord breaks in pieces the cedars of Lebanon.

Prayer: Almighty God, your voice is a creative power for good.

Thought for the day: God spoke creation into life.

Wednesday, July 20

I Kings 22; 16, 17 The king said to him, “How many times must I make you swear to tell me nothing but the truth in the name of the Lord?” Then Miciah answered, “I saw all Israel scattered on the hills like sheep without a shepherd, and the Lord said, ‘These people have no master.  Let each one go home in peace.’”

Prayer: Lord, may we be ready to hear your word of truth and judgment.

Thought for the day: Counselors prepare patients to hear the truth.

Thursday, July 21

Ezekiel 37: 4, 5 Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the word of the lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says to these bones: I will make breath enter you, and you will come to life.”

Prayer: Lord, your word brings hope and life.

Thought for the day: Someone said you can make someone’s day if you say, “You made my day.”

Friday, July 22

John 5: 24, 25 “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life. I tell you the truth, a time is coming and has now come when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God and those who hear will live.”

Prayer: Jesus, we are listening to you for your word to invite us to cross over to life.

Thought for the day: Often the one who writes a test is the one who can give an exemption.

 

Saturday, July 23

Revelation 3:20 “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will go in and eat with him, and he with me.”

Prayer: Jesus, we would hear your voice and open the door of our heart to you.

Thought for the day: A high school marque said, “When the door of opportunity closes, build a new door.”

 
The Prophet Elijah//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
Photo: “The Prophet Elijah” by Lawrence OP on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

