Week Five — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — Words of Jesus in Matthew — Matthew 8:19, 20

Sunday, January 29

Matthew 8:19, 20 Then a teacher of the law came to him and said, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.” Jesus replied, “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.”

Prayer: Jesus, we know you as king of heaven and earth.

Thought for the day:  The cowbird lay their eggs in the nest of other species.

Monday, January 30 

Matthew 8: 21, 22 Another man, one of his disciples, said to him, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.” But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.’”

Prayer:  Jesus, we cast away our idols to follow you.

Thought for the day:  The monkey traps itself when it refuses to open its hand and give up the bait.

Tuesday, January 31

Matthew 4:18, 19 As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew.  They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen.  “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, answering your call is salvation for us and for others.

Thought for the day:  If the apostles had no disciples, or if their disciples had no disciples, who would tell you and me the Gospel?

Wednesday, February 1

John 14: 3, 4 In my father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you.  I am going there to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, we follow you that we might spend time and eternity with you.

Thought for the day: You could pay the get-in price of $2243 to attend Super Bowl LI, and you could still miss getting an autograph from your favorite player.

Thursday, February 2 

Psalm 61:1, 2 Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer.  From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

Prayer:  O God, amid the uncertainties of life lead us to place our feet on a secure footing.

Thought for the day: The Lord’s steps are not missteps.

Friday, February 3

John 8:12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Prayer: Lord Jesus, in this dark world we need your guiding light for all our decisions, all our actions.

Thought for the day: Ancient navigators on the sea could find their way home by following the stars.

Saturday, February 4

Matthew 16:24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “if anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.”

Prayer: Lord Jesus, on this day and those that follow we commit ourselves to follow you.

Thought for the day: Jesus’ cross bearing denies the flesh to find strength in the spirit.
Jesus calls Simon Peter & Andrew//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
Photo: “Jesus calls Simon Peter and Andrew” Fr. Lawrence Lew, OP on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

