Week Nineteen — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — the Resurrected Christ — Luke 24:46

Sunday, May 7

Luke 24:46 He told them, “This is what is written: the Christ must suffer and rise from the dead on the third day.”

Prayer:  Lord God, forever and ever your life-giving word has proven true.

Thought for the day: In God’s eternal plan there is a place for you.

Monday, May 8

Deuteronomy 18:18,19 I will raise up for them a prophet like you [Moses] from among their brothers; I will put my words in his mouth, and he will tell them everything I command him.  If anyone does not listen to my words that the prophet speaks in my name, I myself will call him to account.

Prayer:  Lord God, we would hear and obey the prophetic word of Jesus.

Thought for the day: With the ear we hear, and with the heart we listen.

Tuesday, May 9

Isaiah 50:5,6 The sovereign Lord has opened my ears, and I have not been rebellious, I have not drawn back.  I offered my back to those who beat me, my cheeks to those who pulled out my beard, I did not hide my face from mocking and spitting. 

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, you prayed to the Father, “Thy will be done.”

Thought for the day: The experienced batter knows when the ball will strike him or her.

Wednesday, May 10

Psalm 22: 15,16 My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth, you lay me in the dust of death, Dogs have surrounded me, a band of evil men has encircled me, they have pierced my hands and my feet.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, the nail prints in your hands and feet remind us of your love.

Thought for the day: None can say Jesus’ crucifixion was a humane execution.

Thursday, May 11

Psalm 69: 8, 9 I am a stranger to my brothers, an alien to my own mother’s sons, for zeal for your house consumes me, and the insults of those who insult you fall on me.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, the taunts and mockery you received on the cross were undeserved.

Thought for the day: A songwriter said, “Jesus knows all about our struggles.”

Friday, May 12

Psalm 16: 10, 11 because you will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay.  You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Prayer:  Jesus, with your last breath you entrusted your self to God saying “into thy hands I commend my spirit.”

Thought for the day: No problem you could share with God is a problem that God has not overcome in this life or in eternity.

Saturday, May 13

Psalm 110: 1, 2 The Lord says to my Lord, “Sit at my right hand until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet.”  The Lord will extend your mighty scepter from Zion, you will rule in the midst of your enemies.

Prayer:  Praise to God the Father who has given the victory over death to Jesus.

Thought for the day: Sooner or later the enemies of an invincible king must surrender or suffer the consequences of defeat.

 

Thomas Doubts 4//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
photo: “Thomas Doubts 4” by Waiting for the Word on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

