Week Twenty One — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — Jesus’ wait time — Luke 24: 49

Sunday, May 21

Luke 24: 49 I am going to send you what my Father has promised, but stay in the city until you have been clothed with power from on high.

Prayer: Lord, we obediently wait upon the promise of the Spirit.

Thought for the day: No anxiety is required for waiting.

Monday, May 22

Psalm 27: 13, 14 I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

Prayer:  Lord God, the manifestation of your goodness shall prevail in due season.

Thought for the day: Mothers know how to make red and wrinkled newborns into beautiful babies.

Tuesday, May 23

Psalm 130:5, 6 I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope.  My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.

Prayer:  Lord God, even more comforting that the first light of day is the thought of your presence.

Thought for the day: Filling wait time with trust or filling wait time with worry is a choice.

Wednesday, May 24

Isaiah 8:17 I will wait for the Lord, who is hiding his face from the house of Jacob, I will put my trust in him.

Prayer:  Lord God, even in the seasons when it appears that you are hidden, may we find the strength to trust in you.

Thought for the day: Some doors without peepholes just have to be opened in faith.

Thursday, May 25

Micah 7:6, 7 For a son dishonors his father, a daughter rises up against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law a man’s enemies are the members of his own household.  But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.

Prayer:  Lord God, when others fail us, we find consolation in knowing you are ever faithful

Thought for the day:  Excessive pessimism about humanity can cause an allergic reaction.

Friday, May 26

Galatians 5: 5, 6 But by faith we eagerly await through the Spirit the righteousness for which we hope.  For in Christ Jesus nether circumcision nor uncircumcision has any value.  The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, we must trust you to perfect our righteousness in your time.

Thought for the day: The sculptor does not begin and end his or her work with the same blow.

Saturday, May 27

I Thessalonians 1: 9, 10 for they themselves report what kind of reception you gave us.  They tell how you turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God, and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead – Jesus who rescues us form the coming wrath.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, we are waiting for your return from heaven.

Thought for the day: If you reached the number for Heaven in error you may hang up, otherwise please stay on the line.  Your approximate wait time will be forgotten when the operator connects you with Jesus.
Ascension of the Lord//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Photo: “Ascension of Jesus” by Fr Lawrence Lew O. P. on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

