Week Twenty-six — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — God calls a Prophet — Jeremiah 1: 4, 5

Sunday, June 25

Jeremiah 1: 4, 5 The word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart, I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Prayer:  Lord God, thank you for all the spokespersons you have sent our way.

Thought for the day: You can learn a lot by listening.

Monday, June 26

Jeremiah 1:6, 7 “Ah, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.” But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a child.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you.”

Prayer:  Lord God, thank you for equipping us for the tasks you call us to undertake.

Thought for the day: God’s message is bigger than our fears.

Tuesday, June 27

Exodus 3: 9, 10 And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them.  So now, go.  I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.

Prayer:  Lord, may we be the answer to the prayers of those suffering from the ill effects of sin.

Thought for the day: You can be God’s medicine for someone in need.

Wednesday, June 28

Isaiah 6: 8, 9 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “whom shall I send?  And who will go for us?  And I said “Here am I.  Send me!”

Prayer:  Lord, we are available to serve you.

Thought for the day:  God still calls to service those who are listening.

Thursday, June 29

Ezekiel 2: 3,4 He said, “son of man, I am sending you to the Israelites, to a rebellious nation that has rebelled against me; they and their fathers have been in revolt against me to this very day. The people to whom I am sending you are obstinate and stubborn.  Say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says.’”

Prayer:  Lord God, we give thanks that you would send a word even to the rebellious.

Thought for the day:  With YouTube instructional videos it’s best to start at the beginning.

Friday, June 30

John 3: 17 For God did not send his son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, we give honor to you for coming to us in a spirit of love.

Thought for the day: Success coaches remind us that body language communicates our acceptance or rejection of our audience before we speak a word.

Saturday July 1

John 20: 21 Again Jesus said, “Peace be with you! As the Father has sent me, I am sending you.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, we humbly acknowledge that you have sent us with your message in peace.

Thought for the day: The healthier and happier choice may be to drop your gun rather  than attempting to draw your gun.
Jeremiah
photo: “Jeremiah” by Fr Lawrence Lew O. P. on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

