Week Twenty-seven — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — Jeremiah begins his prophesy — Jeremiah 2: 1, 2

Sunday, July 2

Jeremiah 2:1,2 The word of the Lord came to me: “Go and proclaim in the hearing of Jerusalem.  I remember the devotion of your youth, how as a bride you loved me and followed me through the desert, through a land not sown.

Prayer:  Lord God, call to our remembrance the joy of finding faith in you.

Thought for the day:  Good counselors invite couples to recollect why they were attracted to their partners.

Monday, July 3

Jeremiah 2: 7, 8 I brought you into a fertile land to eat its fruit and rich produce.  But you came and defiled my land and made my inheritance detestable. The priest did not ask, “Where is the Lord?” Those who deal with the law did not know me, the leaders rebelled against me.  The prophets prophesied by Baal, following worthless idols.

Prayer: Lord God, may we ever be faithful to you.

Thought for the day: The new and the improved are often confused..

 

Tuesday, July 4

Jeremiah 2:13 My people have committed two sins: The have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water.

Prayer:  Lord God, the well of your blessings is bottomless.

Thought for the day: The drain plug should be replaced before new oil is added.

Wednesday, July 5

Jeremiah 2: 21, 22 “I have planted you like a choice vine of sound and reliable stock.  How then did you turn against me into a corrupt, wild vine?  Although you wash yourself with soda and use an abundance of soap the stain of your guilt is still before me,” declares the Sovereign Lord.

Prayer:  Lord God, we give thanks for the cleansing blood of Jesus to wash away our sins.

Thought for the day:  Cold water of cornstarch paste are tried remedies for blood stains.

Thursday, July 6

Jeremiah 2: 31, 32 You of this generation consider the word of the Lord: “Have I been a desert to Israel or a land of great darkness?  Why do my people say, ‘We are free to roam; we will come to you no more?’” Does a maiden forget her jewelry, a bride her wedding ornaments? Yet my people have forgotten me, days without number.

Prayer:  Lord God, may we be ever mindful of the times you have delivered your children from bondage.

Thought for the day: Recollections of works of God are vitamins for the spiritual life.

Friday, July 7

Jeremiah 3: 14, 15 Return, faithless people,” declares the Lord, “for I am your husband.  I will choose you – one from a town and two from a clan – and bring you to Zion.  Then I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will lead you with knowledge and understanding.

Lord God, we gratefully acknowledge how you have planned a future for your people.

Thought for the day:  Does the insurance company love grandchildren better than the grandparents love grandchildren?

Saturday, July 8

Jeremiah 3: 16 In those days, when your numbers have increased greatly in the land,” declares the Lord, “men will no longer say, ‘the ark of the covenant of the Lord.’ It will never enter their minds or be remembered; it will not be missed, nor will another one be made.

Prayer: Lord God, we look forward to that day when we shall be invited into your heavenly presence.

Thought for the day: Why do some actresses insist that they never be photographed without their makeup?
Jeremiah
photo: “Jeremiah” by Fr Lawrence Lew O. P. on http://www.flickr.com

