Week Thirty-six — Verse by Verse Devotional Series — Jeremiah writes to the exiles — Jeremiah 29:13,14

Note: In a letter to the exiles Jeremiah warns the people not to trust the false prophets who promise a quick-fix. God’s plans to proper the people (v. 11) are part of God’s promise that in God’s time God will restore the people after 70 years of captivity.

Sunday

Jeremiah 29:13-14 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the lord, “ and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

Prayer: Lord God, we give thanks that you are present for us in our hour of need.

Thought for the day: If your text message to heaven is not getting through, you may need to check your network connectivity.

Monday

2 Chronicles 7:13, 14 When I shut up the heaves so that there is no rain, or command locust to devour the land or send a plague among my people, if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn form their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

Prayer: Lord God, we who are your people humble ourselves before you that we might seek your face.

Thought for the day: Some conversations require dressing up, while others require dressing down.

Tuesday

Psalm 28: 7, 8 Hear my voice when I call, O Lord; be merciful to me and answer me. My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, Lord, I will seek.

Prayer: Almighty God, within us is a yearning that is for you alone.

Thought for the day: Sea water does not quench one’s thirst.

Wednesday

Psalm 119:2 Blessed are they who keep his statues and seek him with all their heart.

Prayer: Lord God, may you forgive us when we halfheartedly search for you.

Thought for the day: Few Himalayan mountaineers are content to reach only the first base camp.

Thursday

John 12:20,21 Now there were some Greeks among those who went up to worship at the Feast. They can to Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee, with a request. “Sir,” they said, “we would like to see Jesus.”

Prayer: Lord Jesus, may we be ready to lead inquiring souls to you.

Thought for the day: Moviegoers pay to see the main feature and not the upcoming trailers.

Friday

2 Thessalonians 2: 16, 17 May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and world.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, in you we have a good hope and an eternal encouragement.

Thought for the day: Your good hope in Christ cannot be garnished by any bill collector.

Saturday

I John 3:2,3 Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when he appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself, just as he is pure.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, we would be pure that we may be like you at your appearing.

Thought for the day: The word of God is a soul sanitizer. For best effects use frequent applications.

Jeremiah
photo: “Jeremiah” by Fr Lawrence Lew O. P. on http://www.flickr.com

Leave a Reply

