A Meditation on Summer Heat

English: Summer field in Belgium (Hamois). The...

English: Summer field in Belgium (Hamois). The blue flower is Centaurea cyanus and the red one a Papaver rhoeas. Français : Un champ en été en Belgique (Hamois). La fleur bleue est un bleuet des champs et la rouge un coquelicot. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Psalm 32:1-5: A Communion Meditation

 

Have you felt the triple digit temperatures sapping your strength?  Think of that as I read Psalm 32:1-5.

 

The Psalmist said, (1)”Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.  (2) Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them, and in whose spirit is no deceit. (3) When I kept silent, my bones wasted away, through my groaning all day long.  (4)For day and night your hand was heavy on me; and my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. (5) Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity.  I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.  And you forgave the guilt of my sin.”

 

The Psalmist found relief.  He confessed, and he found forgiveness.

 

It would be tragic for you to come to church and leave and still have sin sapping your strength.  As you examine yourself at the Lord’s Table why not make your confession?  Then you can experience the relief that the Psalmist found.

 

(About 175 words)

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment